Northwestern Polytechnic is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Tyler May and Mr. Mike McMann, along with the reappointment of Ms. Heather Kerschbaumer to the Board of Governors. These three-year terms were officially confirmed by a Government of Alberta Order in Council on June 20, 2024.

Dr. Tyler May is a physician practising family medicine in his hometown of Manning, AB. He received medical training in Ireland and completed his medical residency in Dawson Creek, BC. For the last 11 years, Dr. May has been a dedicated practitioner and was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal in 2022 for his contributions to the province.

Mike McMann is an accomplished administrator who serves as superintendent for the Fort Vermillion School Division. With 23 years of leadership experience, he is a devoted champion of inclusive education. Mr. McMann was awarded the 2024 Dyslexia Canada Educational Excellence Award in recognition of his advocacy and commitment to improving literacy outcomes for all children.

Heather Kerschbaumer has been a member of the Board of Governors since 2021. She is a business owner with ties to the agricultural community in Fairview and has over 25 years of leadership experience, most recently with Organic Alberta. Ms. Kerschbaumer and her family have deep connections to NWP, including time spent as members of the Wolfpack.

The NWP Board of Governors is responsible for management and guidance of the Polytechnic as per the Post-Secondary Learning Act. To learn more about the Board, please visit

Information provided by Northwestern Polytechnic