Alberta Grains held its Annual General Meeting yesterday as part of the CrossRoads Crop Conference in Edmonton.

Alberta Grains was formed with the amalgamation of Alberta Wheat and Alberta Barley in August 2023.

The new group formally electing its inaugural board of directors and delegates with Tara Sawyer serving as board chair, Scott Jespersen as first vice-chair, and Devin Hartzler as second vice-chair.... all three served on the interim board of directors.

Sawyer says she's honoured to serve as the first chair for Alberta Grains.

"There is so much opportunity in the industry as a whole and as a board, we’re leveraging that to ensure wheat and barley remain a top choice for farmers and end-users alike."

Regional meetings were held in November to elect the regional directors.

• Region 1: Dean Hubbard, David Bishop.

• Region 2: Devin Hartzler, Tara Sawyer.
• Region 3: Stewart Oke, Dick Wymenga.
• Region 4: Shawn Jacula, Brent Christensen.
• Region 5: Scott Jespersen.
• Region 6: Greg Sears, Tasha Alexander.

Alberta Grains executive director, Michael Flynn says he can’t wait to get started with our newly elected board of directors.