Cereals Canada Board of Directors announced the appointment of a new board chair, executive committee, and five new members. 

Jennifer Marchand was elected to the position of chair at the organization's board meeting held Friday in Winnipeg.   

"It’s a pleasure to announce Jennifer’s appointment to board chair," said Chief Executive Officer Dean Dias. "Her experience, strategic thinking and genuine passion for Canadian agriculture is invaluable to Cereals Canada as we continue to support the Canadian cereals value chain with a focus on trade, science, and sustainability.” 

Marchand, government and industry relations leader, AVP, Cargill Limited, has served as a director and as vice chair for two years. Marchand replaces Todd Hames, who will remain on the board as a director. Brett Halstead of the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission has been elected vice chair, Gregg Fotheringham as secretary, and Adam Dyck as treasurer.  


“I want to thank Todd for his years of service and leadership. As chair, he ushered in a new era for Cereals Canada after the merging of two heritage brands in 2020,” says Marchand. “I look forward to serving the board in this new capacity as we build on the exceptional work that has been done to ensure the continued success of Canada’s thriving wheat, oat, and barley industry. 

Friday’s board meeting also saw the election of five new board members.

Newly elected are: 

Boris Michaleski, Producer Representative, Manitoba Crop Alliance 
Chris Legge, Industry Representative, Syngenta 
Tyler Groenveld, Industry Representative, Corteva 
Ramzy Yelda, Producer Representative, Producteurs de grains du Québec 
Josh Boersen, Producer Representative, Grain Farmers of Ontario 
Departing the board are industry representatives Jeffrey Bertholet and Trish Jordan, and producer representatives Jake Leguee, Robert Misko, and Henry Van Ankum. Marchand took a moment at today’s annual meeting to recognize their years of service on the board and dedication to the organization.  


“On behalf of the board, I want to express my gratitude to the members who have concluded their terms,” said Marchand. “We have benefited from their insight, expertise, and unfaltering dedication as both board members and industry leaders.”