This morning (Sept. 13), nine of Alberta's post-secondary institutions announced that vaccines will be required for those attending their campuses.

The University of Alberta, University of Calgary, University of Lethbridge, MacEwan University, Medicine Hat College, Mount Royal University, NAIT, SAIT, and NorQuest College are all introducing vaccine mandates of their own.

Several of the schools made the announcement simultaneously through news releases, though it should be noted that the date and manner of implementation will vary from school to school.

For example, the University of Alberta's mandate will come into effect on November 1, while Mount Royal's and SAIT's will take effect on January 1, 2022.

Previously, a negative rapid COVID test was also accepted at the universities of Alberta, Calgary, and Lethbridge, though that's no longer the case.

The releases indicate that rapid testing will be acceptable for those who can't be vaccinated for medical reasons.

Proof of vaccination will be required for those entering campus, including visitors.

The University of Alberta lists electronic and paper records as acceptable, including vaccine records from MyHealth Records.