Seven individuals and four organizations were honoured for their local contributions to social services at today’s Passionate Heart Awards ceremony.

The 17th annual event is the first in-person ceremony after two virtual events. This year marked the highest number of nominations in the program's history.

Sponsored by Family Community Support Services (FCSS) in the City of Grande Prairie, County of Grande Prairie and towns of Beaverlodge, Sexsmith and Wembley, the Passionate Heart Awards celebrate people, teams and businesses that make a difference in their communities by enhancing social services or generally improving quality of life in the region.

2023 Award Recipients:

  • Passionate Heart Exceptional Service Award:
    • Rick Zimmerman, Operations Manager, Rising Above
    • Myles Edgar, Teacher, Athletic Director & Leadership Advisor, Peace Wapiti Public School Division —Beaverlodge Regional High School
    • Stacy Rorem, Assistant Principal, Peace Wapiti Public School Division — Robert W. Zahara School
    • Lee Boylan, Principal, Grande Prairie & District Catholic Schools — Holy Cross School
    • Corrine Shmyruk, Principal, Grande Prairie Public School Division — Parkside Montessori
    • Jill Kergen, Community Outreach Librarian, Grande Prairie Public Library
  • Passionate Heart Exceptional Team Award:
    • Community Foundation of Northwestern Alberta
    • Peace Collaborative Services Team
  • Passionate Heart Exceptional Business Award:
    • The Minhas Group
    • ABC Recycling
  • Chris Henderson Lifetime Achievement Award:
    • Kathleen Turner, Family and Community Support Services Director, County of Grande Prairie

“Over the past few years, it has become more apparent than ever how incredibly meaningful the social services are to our residents,” says County of Grande Prairie Reeve Bob Marshall. “With a record number of nominations, it’s clear that there are amazing people, teams, and businesses making a difference in our communities with their passionate hearts.”

“The Passionate Heart Awards are an important event every year, recognizing the individuals and groups in our social services sector supporting our region,” says City of Grande Prairie Mayor Jackie Clayton. “The City of Grande Prairie extends a huge congratulations to all the award winners, and our gratitude for their dedication to supporting quality of life and an inclusive, caring community for all residents.”

The partnering municipalities congratulate all the nominees and award recipients.

More information on the annual Passionate Heart awards can be found at or

Passionate Heart Awards City of Grande Prairie (4)

Passionate Heart Awards City of Grande Prairie (3)

Passionate Heart Awards, City of Grande Prairie (5)