Alberta's diverse Crown land trails are a haven for outdoor enthusiasts, catering to hikers, cyclists, skiers, and equestrians. Thanks to the Alberta Public Land Trails Grant Program, 14 trail organizations will receive funding to bolster the upkeep and development of these cherished paths.

In a recent announcement, the Alberta government designated the Great Divide Trail Association and the Hinton Mountain Bike Association as official trail stewards. Volunteers from these groups will continue their commendable efforts to ensure trail safety and accessibility, fostering a wealth of recreational opportunities at minimal cost for both Albertans and visitors alike.

“Alberta’s recreational trails are enjoyed and valued by many generations. This investment will build on previously announced funding. As an outdoorsman myself, I’m happy to see such strong uptake of this grant program by trail organizations across Alberta. Taking care of our land is a responsible thing to do and is very important to me.” Todd Loewen, Minister of Forestry and Parks

With an allocation of $287,273, the Hinton Mountain Bike Association is entrusted with the vital task of preserving and enhancing mountain bike trails, further enriching Alberta's outdoor landscape. The Willmore Wilderness Foundation received $87,900 for trail clearing and maintenance, while the Kakwa Sherman Trails Society secured $50,000 for trail assessment and maintenance. This ongoing investment reflects the government's commitment to sustaining these trails for the enjoyment of generations to come.

“This partnership provides the Hinton Mountain Bike Association with clear direction on maintaining our trail networks and the funding allows us to complete projects that were a challenge or on a wish list in the past. These two opportunities are allowing us to replace and construct small bridges and boardwalks over wet areas and will keep us supplied with hand tools to keep trails in prime condition.” Hal Jackson, president, Hinton Mountain Bike Association

Information provided by the Government of Alberta