2022 is a big year for the organization, which was originally founded in 1947.

The Alberta Association of Agricultural Societies holding their Annual Convention last week with about 220 delegates from 70 Agricultural Societies taking part.

Delegates heard keynote presentations from Dr Lisa Belanger on "Rebuilding Connection and Community", and Doug Griffiths on how "Everything is about to Change -- Adapt or Die".

Delegates also had an opportunity to question Provincial Ministers during their Q & A Forum, and took part in various sessions from Community Resiliency to Volunteer Recruitment, to Strategic Planning and Government Relations.

They also unveiled the AAAS Farm Safety Show as part of the showcase in hopes that Ag Societies would look at bringing the show to their own communities to help promote Farm Safety.

Other Highlights for the event included their annual Awards night.

The 2022 Honor Roll Recipients Ellen Bonde from the Rocky Mountain House Ag Society and Brenda Moon from the Airdrie Ag Society

Chris Sisson from Superior Tent Rentals received the 2022 Award of Merit.

The Outstanding Supporter of Agriculture was Charles Newell from the Radway Ag Society

The AAAS scholarship winners were Alyson Blain - Cottonwood Gordon Agricultural Society, Zachery Farr - Vegreville Agricultural Society,
Amanda Hardman Spruce Grove and District Agricultural Society, and Barrt Maayen - Coaldale & District Agricultural Society.

The Agricultural Society Innovation Awards were presented to the Calmar and District Agricultural Society and the Rocky Mountain House Agricultural Society.