The 2023 GMA Dove Awards, Christian music's biggest night took place Friday evening and while people may have taken home the awards, it was Jesus getting the praise.

This year's event, which took place in Nashville, showcased the remarkable talents within the Christian music world. Brandon Lake appeared as the Artist of the Year, while Katy Nichole claimed the title of New Artist of the Year. The award for Song of the Year was granted to "Goodness of God," a powerful composition crafted by Ben Fielding, Ed Cash, Jason Ingram, Jenn Johnson, and Brian Johnson.

Tauren Wells, the host, delivered an unexpected sermon that drew the audience's attention to the prevailing tensions in Israel, saying, “We stand with the people of God and as scripture instructs us, we pray for peace in Jerusalem. Now here’s the thing - we can’t just pray for peace and not understand and identify the Prince of Peace. This conflict will not end until Jesus is the Lord of Israel, and Jesus is the Lord of Palestine, and Jesus is the Lord of every nation and every tribe and every tongue. There is a day coming at which every knee will bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord. The world could be at war but the church is gonna be in worship. Because we don’t praise God depending upon our circumstances. We praise God depending upon His reputation.”

The wide spectrum of Christian music was clear with special recognitions such as "Good Morning Mercy" by Jason Crabb and Dylan Scott winning the Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year. 

In the Spanish Language category, "Coritos (En Vivo)" by Miel San Marcos, Daniel Calveti, Marcos Witt, and Ingrid Rosario was celebrated. Lecrae's "Church Clothes 4" clinched the Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year, while TobyMac's "Life After Death" stood tall as the Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year.

The diverse spectrum of Christian music shone through with awards in different categories, showcasing the depth of this genre. Tasha Cobbs Leonard was honoured with the Gospel Worship Album of the Year for "Hymns (Live)," and Elevation Worship's "LION: Live From The Loft" was declared the Worship Album of the Year.

The power of Christian music in feature films was acknowledged through the award for Feature Film of the Year, which went to "Jesus Revolution." The songwriting was celebrated with Brandon Lake and Jeff Pardo securing the Songwriter of the Year titles. 

Full list of 2023 GMA Dove winners

Artist of the Year: Brandon Lake

New Artist of the Year: Katy Nichole

Song of the Year: "Goodness of God" written by Ben Fielding, Ed Cash, Jason Ingram, Jenn Johnson and Brian Johnson

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year: "Good Morning Mercy," Jason Crabb and Dylan Scott

Spanish Language Recorded Song of the Year: "Coritos (En Vivo)," Miel San Marcos, Daniel Calveti, Marcos Witt and Ingrid Rosario

Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year: "Church Clothes 4," Lecrae

Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year: "Life After Death," TobyMac

Gospel Worship Album of the Year: "Hymns (Live)," Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Worship Album of the Year: "LION: Live From The Loft," Elevation Worship

Feature Film of the Year: "Jesus Revolution"

Songwriter of the Year - Artist: Brandon Lake

Songwriter of the Year - Non Artist: Jeff Pardo

Producer of the Year: Jeff Pardo

Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year: "Graves," KB and Brandon Lake

Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year: "Brother Jack," Gable Price and Friends

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year: "Brighter Days," Blessing Offor

Inspirational Recorded Song of the Year: "He's Been Faithful," Brooklyn Tabernacle, ft. TaRanda Greene

Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year: "The Keepers," Karen Peck & New River

Contemporary Gospel Recorded Song of the Year: "Your World," Jonathan McReynolds

Traditional Gospel Recorded Song of the Year: "It Is Well," Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Gospel Worship Recorded Song of the Year: "Impossible," Pastor Mike Jr., ft. James Fortune

Worship Recorded Song of the Year: "Gratitude," (radio version) Brandon Lake

Children’s Recorded Song Of The Year: "Sounding Joy," Ellie Holcomb

Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year: "Dominion: Day of Destiny," Skillet

Inspirational Album of the Year: "Turn Your Eyes, Vol II," Point of Grace

Southern Gospel Album of the Year: "Believe," The Hoppers

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album of the Year: "Light in the Canyon," Sandra McCracken

Contemporary Gospel Album of the Year: "Kingdom Book One (Deluxe)," Maverick City Music, Kirk Franklin

Traditional Gospel Album of the Year: "Transitions (Live)," Brian Courtney Wilson

Spanish Language Album of the Year: "Tu Reino Está Aquí," Generación 12

Christmas/Special Event Album of the Year: "Christmas at Home," Michael W. Smith

Musical/Choral Collection of the Year: "A Night of Worship with The Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir"

Recorded Music Packaging of the Year: "The Stories I Tell Myself," Matt Maher

Short Form Music Video of the Year (Concept): "Thank God I Do," Lauren Daigle

Short Form Music Video of the Year (Performance): "The Goodness," TobyMac and Blessing Offor

Long Form Video of the Year: "Come Up Here," Bethel Music

Television Series of the Year: "The Chosen"